ACT School Holidays 2018


This post on “ACT School Holidays 2018” will give key dates and information on ACT public school holiday dates 2018 for ACT school students. This information is for parents and students who are searching for the dates of school holidays ACT online. Do check with your school falling in Australian Capital Territory (ACT) region regarding additional pupil-free days.

The Australian Capital Territory (ACT; known as the Federal Capital Territory until 1938) is Australia’s federal district, located in the south-east of the country. It contains Canberra, the capital city of Australia. In February 2004 there were 140 public and non-governmental schools in ACT; 96 were operated by the Government and 44 are non-Government.

ACT School Holidays 2018

The ACT public school holiday dates 2018 includes all holidays including national, public, and school term breaks. The school holiday list here applies to all public and non-government schools. You are advised to re-check with private and independent schools as their dates may vary.


All the schools observe four terms during the year. ACT school holidays are vacations after completion of each semester or term. The very first Autumn holidays falls just after Term 1 finishes in April. The Winter holidays falls after Term 2 finishes in July. The Spring holidays comes after Term 3 finishes in September. The Summer holidays falls after Term 4 finishes in December and continues till the start of Term 1 in the new year.

ACT Public Holidays 2018


We have published the list of school and public holidays of NSW, South Australia, Queensland, Victoria and Western Australia also. The dates given here may vary slightly from school to school, so ACT school students need to check with their respective school for more information. We have also shared ACT term dates 2018. Find them below:

  • Term 1 –
    • New students start school on Monday 5 February 2018. Continuing students return to school on Tuesday 6 February 2018.
    • Term 1 concludes on Friday 13 April 2018.
    • Teachers commence on the Friday prior to students – Friday 2 February 2018.
  • Term 2 – Monday 30 April to Friday 6 July 2018
  • Term 3 – Monday 23 July to Friday 28 September 2018
  • Term 4 – Monday 15 October to Friday 21 December 2018

Schools are closed for all public holidays including Canberra Day on 12 March 2018 and Reconciliation Day on 28 May 2018. ACT school holidays 2018 dates are important for parents and children to plan their vacation in advance and to avoid last minute hustle.

Almost all educational institutions in the Australian Capital Territory are located within Canberra. Generally, The ACT public education system is categorized into Pre-School, Primary School (K-6), High School (7–10) and College (11–12) followed by studies at university or CIT (Canberra Institute of Technology). Many private high schools include years 11 and 12 and are referred to as colleges.

You can use the list given here to make plans in advance on public holidays and term breaks. A list of all school holidays in 2018 is also covered for NSW, South Australia, Queensland, Victoria and Western Australia in separate posts. Check school holidays and term dates 2018 for them too. Generally, people search for the school holidays for holiday bookings in advance. Plan your school year of 2018 with our handy guide. Happy Holidays!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *